Maria Jackson's picture
By Maria Jackson

Happy Hunger Games! Vol. 2, Issue 9

So many treats this week, Tributes!

First we have a few clips from the upcoming film, some troubling news from The Capitol, soundtrack details and photo stills!

In this clip, Katniss is returned to District 12 to see the devastation and total destruction of her district.  Everything is ruble, except for her house in the Victors Village; it is pristine, undamaged, and within she finds a white rose.



The next clip features more of the combat we can expect to see in MJPT1.

I’m loving the part where Katniss finds out about Peeta and Gale looks like he is so not here for it!



This soundtrack looks killer

I have to say, I am not much of a Lorde fan, but I had a summer love affair with Stromae and when I saw him listed, I jumped up in the middle of the cafe I’m writing this in!  Which listing excites you most? What would you like to hear?

Also, cover art!


iTunes U.K. unveiled the track list and artist line up for The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1 on Monday night.

The 14-track compilation features an array of artists including Charli XCX, HAIM, and CHVRCHES.

This writer – who will never claim to be a music critic – knows very few of these people.

Notably, Lorde is credited on four songs (five if you count the singer’s three words in “This Is Not a Game,” a song we shared earlier today).

The Mockingjay, Part 1 track list is as follows:

1. “Meltdown” (feat. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip & HAIM) – Stromae 4:01

2. “Dead Air” – CHVRCHES 3:14

3. “Scream My Name” – Tove Lo 3:34

4. “Kingdom” (feat. Simon Le Bon) – Charli XCX 4:04

5. “Track 5″ – Various Artists 0:06

6. “Lost Souls” – Raury 2:53

7. “Yellow Flicker Beat” – Lorde 3:54

8. “The Leap” – Tinashé 4:06

9. “Plan the Escape” – Bat for Lashes 2:30

10. “Original Beast” – Grace Jones 4:21

11. “Flicker” (Kanye West Rework) – Lorde 4:12

12. “Animal” – XOV 3:18

13. “This Is Not a Game” (feat. Miguel) – The Chemical Brothers 3:14

14. “Ladder Song” – Lorde 3:14

(Via iTunes U.K.)

“Said Mockingjay director Francis Lawrence of Lorde curating the soundtrack last month, “I was immediately struck by how she so innately understood what we, as both fans and filmmakers, were trying to accomplish with the film. Her immense talent and keen understanding of Mockingjay’s characters and themes not only have enabled her to create a song of her own that completely captures the film’s essence, but her insight and passion for our project make her the perfect creative force to assemble the other songs on our soundtrack.” (x)


Chaos in The Capitol?

Road Closures



Articles with titles like Keeping Up Appearances & Peace At All Costs say things like,

But there are those who would threaten our safety, those who would see our way of life dismantled and destroyed. These criminals live among us and endanger our society from the inside, living as our friends, our neighbors, even among our families. Many will now wear a tawdry representation of a seemingly innocuous mockingjay bird, but be wary! The future they promise is fiction, a dangerous distraction from our goal; a peaceful Panem.”


And a new Capitol TV Series, District Voices, will feature citizens from Districts 2, 5, 9, & 6 as they talk about their “love for their task”, “pride in [their] task”, and the “supremacy of progress”



Check out the clothes on District 8’s “living body form”.  

I wonder if she’s an avox?




Wow, this Peacekeeper training in District 2 is intense! I surely do have a better understanding of their abilities, yiiiikes!


Don’t forget to register for updates from Capitol TV; it’s mandatory.



Until next time, Tributes! May the odds be ever in your favor!