Michael McDonald: This Christmas Live In Chicago (BLU-RAY)

Michael McDonald: This Christmas Live In Chicago

On Blu-Ray: 
Tuesday, September 21, 2010
Running Time: 
85 minutes

Michael McDonald has been a musician for quite some time performing with the likes of Steely Dan and The Doobie Brothers to his own successful solo career. This Christmas Live In Chicago is a collection of tracks from both of McDonald’s Christmas albums, some traditional tracks, and some songs from his solo and non-solo career material as well as a bonus track of the Leonard Cohen classic Hallelujah. If anything a fantastic set for McDonald fans and newcomers.

Presented in 1080i the feature is just shy of being perfect. Eagle Vision has produced far better releases to date and of course, as I’ve stated several times, even to the slightest degree smoke tends to mess with picture in HD products. Definition is crisp and colors are gorgeous but the slight video noise is what dampers the overall grade of the picture. Sound quality comes at you with a DTS-HD MA, Dolby Digital 5.1, and LPCM Stereo option. I took the DTS-HD MA which is fantastic sounding. Instrument levels are even, the mix allows just the faintest amount of audience interference, and vocals mesh well with the overall soundtrack though McDonald does do a bit of rocking from side to side missing his mark on the microphone. All in all if your not a total cinephile your going to be extremely impressed with this BD.

A performance of Leonard Cohen’s classic Hallelujah. As always you have to guess that there could have been more. Artist bio, a little featurette on Soundscape, possibly even a little featurette on Chicago.

1. It Keeps You Runnin'
2. I Keep Forgettin' (Every Time You're Near)
3. Sweet Freedom
4. Every Time Christmas Comes Around
5. On This Night
6. This Christmas
7. Come, O Come Emanuel
8. Wexford Carol
9. Christmas On The Bayou
10. I'll Be Home For Christmas
11. That's What Christmas Means To Me
12. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
13. Peace
14. White Christmas/ Winter Wonderland
15. Minute By Minute
16. What A Fool Believes
17. Takin' It To The Streets
18. Bonus: Hallelujah 

AJ Garcia
Review by AJ Garcia
Follow him @ Twitter
Friend him @ Facebook